Saturday Night Live – Season 42

Character: Various
Created by: Lorne Michaels
Premiere date: October 1, 2016
Episodes: 21
Genre: Comedy
Running time: 1h 30min

The forty-second season of the NBC comedy series Saturday Night Live premiered on October 1, 2016, during the 2016–2017 television season, with host Margot Robbie and musical guest The Weeknd, and concluded on May 20, 2017, with host Dwayne Johnson and musical guest Katy Perry. The season removed two commercial breaks per episode in order to increase programming time. Episode 18 was the first episode ever to be broadcast live in all four time zones within the contiguous United States. Until this episode, the show aired live only in the Eastern and Central time zones and was tape-delayed in the Mountain and Pacific time zones.


Repertory Players: Vanessa Bayer, Beck Bennett, Aidy Bryant, Michael Che, Pete Davidson, Leslie Jones, Colin Jost, Kate McKinnon, Kyle Mooney, Bobby Moynihan, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Sasheer Zamata

Featured Players: Mikey Day, Alex Moffat, Melissa Villaseñor

Production Photos

Episode Guide